Monday, 1 December 2008

WOSM- Interamerican Scout Region

WOSM Inter-American Scout Region
What is it?
The Interamerican Scout Region is the Scout Region that covers the majority of the Western Hemisphere including North and South America. The headquarters of this WOSM region is found in Santiago, Chile. Up until the 1960's the Region only serviced Mexico, Central and South America with the United States and Canada be serviced through the then named "Boy Scouts International Bureau" which was headquartered in Ottawa, Canda. After the 1960's and up until the present this WOSM region has served the majority of Countries in the western hemisphere. The website is currently only in spanish and primarily serves the Spanish speaking countries currently. It also includes one of the six countries in the world that does not have a Scouting Movement.

WOSM Interamerican Regional Committee Members:
  • Ronald Castro- President, Lives in San Salvador, El Salvador, Term ends in 2010
  • Omar A, Lugo- 1st Vice President, Mexico City, Mexico, Term ends in 2010
  • Nigel Taylor- 2nd Vice President, Bridgetown, Barbados, Term ends in 2010
  • Michael Brabshaw- Member, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Term ends in 2013
  • Fernando Brodeschi- Member, Curitiba, Brazil, Term Ends in 2013
  • Katina George H.- Member, Managua, Nicaragua, Term ends in 2010
  • Gilberto Mendoza- Member, Maracay, Venezuela, Term ends in 2013
  • Oswaldo Navas T.- Member, Quito, Ecuador, Term ends in 2013
  • Diego Ospina D.- Member, Bogota, COlombia, Term ends in 2013
  • Luis Sabater N,- Member, Domingo, DOminican Republic, Term ends in 2010

Here is the listing from the start to the present of where the Interamerican Region Headquarters are:
  • Havana, Cuba (1946 to 1960)
  • Kingston Jamaica (1960)
  • Mexico City, Mexico (1960 to 1968)
  • San Jose, Costa Rica (1968 to 1992)
  • Santiago Chile (1992 to Present)
Which Countries Have Scouting?
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • COlombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • DOminican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Savaldor
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Aruba (Associate Member)
  • Netherlands Antilles (Associate Members)
That is the Basic Overview for the Interamerican WOSM Region.

Yours in Scouting Service
Mark W
Junior Assistant Scoutmaster
Troop 1616

No comments:

Post a Comment

Total Pageviews